Internships

The Department of Modern Languages offers multiple internships for credit to students seeking a degree (either major or minor) or a certificate in one of the languages offered by the Department of Modern Languages. Students may utilize up to three internship credits towards their degree. There are three types of internships:

1. Internship in a Foreign Language

FOL 3940. Students will apply the skills gained during their undergraduate coursework in a foreign language to an internship where use of the target language in a professional setting is necessary. We are offering internships in Chinese, Creole, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Chinese: Li Ma (mali@fiu.edu)

Creole: Dr. André (nandre@fiu.edu)

French: Dr. García (garciahd@fiu.edu)

German: Dr. Krol (krolm@fiu.edu)

Italian: Dr. Pearson (pearsonm@fiu.edu)

Japanese: Dr. Mashav (mashava@fiu.edu)

Portuguese: Dr. Gavioli (ngavioli@fiu.edu)

Spanish: Dr. Fanta (afanta@fiu.edu)

2. Teaching Spanish as a Second Language

FOL 3940. Students gain experience teaching a foreign language at different venues such as a public library, Middle or High School, etc.

For more information, please contact: Dr. Baralt (mbaralt@fiu.edu)

3. Translation and Interpretation

SPT 4940. Judicial T&I Internship. Students will spend a minimum of sixty hours working in state and federal courts under the supervision of a professor.

SPT 4941. Professional T&I Internship. Minimum of sixty hours of supervised observation and practice in Translation or Interpretation at a T&I agency or similar venue.

For more information, please contact: Dr. Gómez (gomezm@fiu.edu).